The International Steering Committee is the primary advisory body guiding decision-making for the Congress, and reporting to the IUCN Director-General.


  • IUCN Director-General – Julia Marton-Lefèvre  (Co-Chair)
  • Chair, IUCN World Commission on Protected Areas – Dr Ernesto Enkerlin Hoeflich (Co-Chair)
  • Director of National Parks (Parks Australia) – Sally Barnes
  • Head of New South Wales National Parks and Wildlife Service – Ann King
  • Global Director, IUCN Biodiversity Conservation Group – Dr Jane Smart
  • Global Director, IUCN Union Development Group – Dr Enrique Lahmann
  • Regional Director, IUCN Oceania – Taholo Kami
  • Regional Director, IUCN Asia – Aban Marker Kabraji
  • World Protected Areas Leadership Forum representative (Colombia) – Julia Miranda Londoño
  • Director, IUCN Global Protected Areas Programme – Trevor Sandwith

Secretariat Contact

IUCN WCPA Parks Australia NSW NPWS