The Programme Working Group coordinates the development and implementation of the technical programme for the Congress in line with the Congress strategic direction. The working group supports the International and National Steering Committees on the implementation of the Congress programme.


  • IUCN World Commission on Protected Areas, Deputy Chair – Dr Kathy MacKinnon (Chair)
  • Director, IUCN Global Protected Areas Programme – Trevor Sandwith
  • Director of National Parks (Parks Australia) – Sally Barnes
  • Global Environment Fund Secretariat Secretariat – Dr Gustavo Fonseca
  • IUCN Council, Oceania Region Representative – Anna Tiraa
  • Deputy Chair of the Commission on Education and Communication (representing the Chairs of all the IUCN Commissions) – Nancy Colleton
  • Chair, Asia Parks Congress Steering Committee – Dr Yoshitaka Kumagai

Secretariat Contact

IUCN WCPA Parks Australia NSW NPWS